Ecclesiastical Buildings

  • ‘Zur Hilligen Seele’ The Chapel of the Holy Spirit

    The ancient Chapel of the Cross, ‘Zur Hilligen Seele’, assumed to date back to the 12th ...

  • The Jesuit Church and Jesuit College at Büren

    The Jesuit Church is a unique Baroque style church in this region; the Society of Jesus ...

  • Marienkapelle Kleinenberg

    Lichtenau-Kleinenberg is an ancient titular town, an exemplary cultural village and a popular Pilgrimage of the Virgin Mary. The pilgrimage worships a Gothic statue of Mary as the ‘Helper of the Mountain’ and is almost as old as the village itself.

  • The Abdinghof Church at Paderborn

    The dual spires of the Abdinghofkirche rise high above the source of the River Pader. This became a Protestant church in 1867. The original Benedictine Monastery Church, St. Peter and Paul, had been built by Bishop Meinwerk and was consecrated in 1023.

  • The Market Church

    This former Jesuit Church (today called the Market Church) was built between 1682 and 1692 with a Baroque façade. The interior of this basilica with its three aisles and its choirs is unusually light and ornate.

  • The Imperial Palace and the Chapel of Bartholomew

    On stepping out of the red gate of the Cathedral into the open, you will see the site of the ...

  • Paderborn Cathedral (Dom)

    Paderborn Cathedral is about 700 years old and it is the fifth cathedral at the same site. In 777, Charlemagne built a church here for the occasion of the ‘Reichstag’ the empirical meeting.

  • LWL-Landesmuseum für Klosterkultur

    Mittelalterliches Frauenkloster, Augustiner-Chorherrenstift, barocke Blütezeit, Preußische Staatsdomäne, Gutshof nach 550 Jahren bewegter Vergangenheit ist das Kloster Dalheim in eine neue Epoche seiner Geschichte eingetreten.

  • Salvator Kolleg

    Die Jugendstilkapelle im Salvator Kolleg ist ein Juwel der Kirchenkunst und einmalig in Norddeutschland. In den 1920er Jahren schuf Kirchenmaler Heinrich Repke aus Wiedenbrück die Malereien, die im zweiten Weltkrieg beschädigt und erst ab 1977 vollständig restauriert wurden.