Paderborn

gListgenerator|createListFilesHtml|002 -> wListgenerator|createListFilesHtml(template not available "/pbl-wGlobal/wGlobal/layout/templates/lists/gallerySlide.wFilelist.php")

Paderborn is located in the centre of the Paderborner Land and, with its 145,000 citizens, it is the heart of the region. It is a university town and is the economic and cultural centre of an area that stretches far beyond the boundaries of the Paderborner Land itself. Thanks to rapid development during the last decades, Paderborn has grown into a lively, but very manageable city, with a high quality of life and great leisure facilities. First-time visitors to Paderborn will be pleasantly surprised by its attractive town centre and pedestrian precinct, its numerous tourist attractions, its romantic alleyways and little lanes and, of course, the 200 hot and cold springs of the River Pader, Germany’s shortest river.
Heinz Nixdorf, the computer pioneer and entrepreneur has played a major role in the development of Paderborn. He laid the foundation for significant growth in the business of computer technology. His former head office has been transformed into the Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum which, according to the Guinness Book of Records, is the largest computer museum in the world. In addition to modern computer technology, visitors will find cuneiform scripts dating back 5,000 years, typewriters reaching back over two centuries and the worldwide largest collection of pocket calculators and mobile telephones.
Computer and the Clergy, high-tech and the medieval – Paderborn is full of contrasts - but you would be pressed to find another major city in Germany where these seeming contradictions live in such harmony. Visitors can explore the city on foot, but why not go on a “Segway Tour” and enjoy an unforgettable driving experience as well?
The landscape in front of the city walls of Paderborn provides ample opportunity to make interesting excursions, enjoyable bicycle tours or to walk along varied rambling routes. As an ancient bishopric, Paderborn has always enjoyed very good connections to the “world above”, and thanks to modern technology, the Global Positioning System (GPS) provides another one! Adults and children have lots of fun using the various GPS navigation systems that are on offer. The selection varies from satellite-supported cycle and rambling tours via “geo-caching” to the GPS City Rally and “scavenger hunts” through the City. GPS devices are available from the Tourist Information in the centre of Paderborn, and with one of these electronic guides in your pocket you are well equipped to go on an exciting tour of exploration.

paderborn

Information

Paderborn with

  • Benhausen
  • Dahl
  • Elsen
  • Marienloh
  • Neuenbeken
  • Sande
  • Schloß Neuhaus
  • Sennelager
  • Wewer

Altitudes/Population
97–340 m above sea level,
137974 inhabitants

Contact
Tourist Information Paderborn
Marienplatz 2a
33098 Paderborn
Tel: +49 5251 882980
Fax: +49 5251 882990
E-Mail
www.paderborn.de
                        

 

Telefon

phoneNumber

search

socialmedia

Facebook Twitter GooglePlus Instagram

Paderborn

 
 
<
>
 
 

Paderborn liegt nicht nur geografisch in der Mitte des Paderborner Landes, die 145.000 Einwohner zählende Universitätsstadt ist auch wirtschaftliches und kulturelles Zentrum eines Gebiets, das weit über die Grenzen des Paderborner Landes hinausreicht. Dank der rasanten Entwicklung in den letzten Jahrzehnten zeigt sich Paderborn heute als lebendige, aber immer noch überschaubare Großstadt mit hoher Lebensqualität und großem Freizeitwert. Wenn Sie Paderborn zum ersten Mal besuchen, werden Sie angenehm überrascht sein von der attraktiven Innenstadt mit ihren zahlreichen Sehenswürdigkeiten, ihren romantischen Gassen, der attraktiven Fußgängerzone und den 200 Quellen der Pader, Deutschland kürzestem Fluss.

Großen Anteil an Paderborns Entwicklung hatte der Computer-Pionier und Unternehmer Heinz Nixdorf: Er legte den Grundstein für ein beachtliches Wachstum der Computerindustrie. Die ehemalige Unternehmenszentrale beherbergt heute das „Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum“, laut Guinnessbuch der Rekorde das größte Computermuseum der Welt. Sie sehen darin nicht nur moderne Computertechnik, sondern auch 5000 Jahre alte Keilschriften, Schreibmaschinen aus zwei Jahrhunderten und die weltweit größten Sammlungen von Taschenrechnern und Mobiltelefonen.
Computer und Kirche, Hightech und Mittelalter – Paderborn bietet Kontraste. Doch in kaum einer anderen deutschen Großstadt bilden diese scheinbaren Gegensätze eine so harmonische Einheit wie hier. Eine gute Gelegenheit, diese kennen zu lernen, bieten Ihnen die Stadtführungen der Tourist Information. Sie können die Stadt auch bei einer Segway-Tour erkunden und dabei ein unvergessliches Fahrerlebnis genießen.

Die Landschaft vor den Toren Paderborns bietet Ihnen beste Voraussetzungen für interessante Ausflüge, genussvolle Radtouren und abwechslungsreiche Wanderungen. Sehr nützlich sind dabei die guten Kontakte zum Himmel, die Paderborn als Bischofsstadt schon immer gehabt hat. Dank moderner Technik ist die Verbindung zum Himmel jetzt intensiver geworden. Gemeint ist das "Global Positioning System", kurz GPS. Die unterschiedlichen Angebote rund um die GPS-Navigation machen Erwachsenen und Kindern mächtig Spaß. Die Auswahl reicht von satellitengestützten Rad- und Wandertouren über Geocaching bis zur GPS-Stadtrallye und -Schnitzeljagd. Wenn Sie kein eigenes GPS-Gerät besitzen, können Sie bei der Tourist Information Paderborn eins mieten, um sich auf spannende Entdeckungstouren zu begeben.

paderborn

Informationen

Paderborn mit

  • Benhausen
  • Dahl
  • Elsen
  • Marienloh
  • Neuenbeken
  • Sande
  • Schloß Neuhaus
  • Sennelager
  • Wewer

Höhenmeter/Einwohner
97–340 m ü. NN,
146.283 Einwohner

Kontakt
Tourist Information Paderborn
Marienplatz 2a
33098 Paderborn
Telefon 05251 882980
Telefax 05251 882990
E-Mail schreiben
www.paderborn.de

 
 
 
 
ServiceQualität DEUTSCHLAND

Adresse

Touristikzentrale Paderborner Land e. V.
Königstraße 16
33142 Büren
Tel. 02951 970300
Fax  02951 970304
info@paderborner-land.de

Informationen